TEST OUT: dépistage communautaire et gratuit

testout_exaequo

Exaequo has been an active member fighting against HIV within the MSM community (Men having Sex with other Men) in the French speaking part of Belgium since 1994. Exaequo has also been a pioneer in non-medicalised, delocalised fast-reading HIV tests since 2013.

Despite the fact that the TEST OUT project stopped being funded by INAMI end of 2014, Exæquo continued offering free testing within the community on a self-funded basis. Two weekly sessions are being held within our premises at 29, Rue des Pierres in Brussels, on Wednesdays (12:00 – 14:00) and Thursdays (19:00 – 21:30). Thanks to a team of volunteers, Exæquo is also present at the Rainbow Houses in Charleroi and Namur, and in saunas in Brussels and Neufchâteau. In Verviers, Exæquo also helps a team of now autonomous local volunteers.

In addition to free HIV testing, the gay and MSM community can find at Exæquo a benevolent and non-judgmental counselling based on sexual practices and other risks, including Chemsex.

Based on SIALON II study, 1 seropositive MSM out of 9 in Brussels ignore his serological status. Taken regularly, an HIV-positive person under treatment can stop transmitting the virus, hence the motto “Undetectable = Untransmittable”.

Regular testing and treatment are nowadays the corner stone of « combined prevention », in the same way as condoms, post-exposure treatment and PrEP. Exaequo is present on all fronts in collaboration with hospitals and other members present on the field.

Support our actions with a donation or by becoming a volunteer! We need your help!

Website: www.exaequo.be

TEST OUT: dépistage communautaire et gratuit

testout_exaequo

Acteur de la lutte contre le VIH auprès des hommes ayant des rapports sexuels avec d’autres hommes (HSH) en Belgique francophone depuis 1994, Exæquo fut pionnière dans le dépistage communautaire démédicalisé du VIH à partir de tests rapides dès 2013.

Malgré la non-reconduction du financement de ce projet pilote par l’INAMI en 2015, Exæquo continue à proposer un dépistage communautaire sur fonds propres. Deux permanences par semaine sont organisées au 29, rue des Pierres (mercredi 12:00 – 14:00 / jeudi 19:00 – 21:30) mais les volontaires et l’équipe sont aussi présents dans les Maisons Arc-en-ciel de Charleroi et de Namur et dans les saunas de Bruxelles et Neufchâteau. A Verviers, Exæquo a accompagné une équipe de volontaires locaux qui est désormais autonome.

Outre la gratuité du dépistage, la communauté gay et HSH trouve ici un counselling bienveillant et non jugeant adapté à leurs pratiques sexuelles et leurs prises de risques y compris dans le cadre du Chemsex.

1 HSH sur 9 à Bruxelles ne connaît pas son statut sérologique alors qu’il est séropositif (étude SIALON II). Pourtant, une personne qui se sait séropositive peut suivre un traitement, qui – pris régulièrement – lui permet de ne plus transmettre le virus. C’est ce que résume le slogan “Indétectable = Intransmissible“.

Le dépistage et le traitement qui suit sont de nos jours des éléments essentiels de la « prévention combinée » au même titre que le préservatif, le traitement post-exposition et la PrEP. Exæquo est présent sur tous ces fronts en collaboration avec les hôpitaux et autres acteurs de terrain.

Soutenez nos actions par un don ou en devenant volontaire! Nos portes vous sont ouvertes!

Site web: www.exaequo.be